What’s that smell?

I passed by my parents’ place the other day and, just like I always do, headed to the kitchen to see if they had any tempting left-overs.

Don’t worry, I’m not that bad of a daughter. I kissed everyone and said hello. No need to be rude!

So, back to the kitchen.

Fridge check:

  • left-over pasta with meat sauce
  • Cheese and cold cuts 

Stove: 

  • A big pot that was calling my name!

I lift the cover and almost instantly get hypnotised at the sight of what was inside. It had been ages I hadn’t had “choucroute”.

A voice pulled me back to reality. 

Ugh! what’s that smell??!!😷😷😷 ( it was my husband with a disgusted look on his face)

It smells so good right?!

For those of you who don’t  know what Choucroute is, let me explain.

It is fermented cabbage (also known as sauerkraut) cooked in white wine, with lots and lots of pork. It has a very distinct, strong  smell. I’m drooling just describing it!

Here is how it’s made:

  • 1 kg fermented cabbage
  • Smoke bacon rind
  • 100 g bacon
  • 8 Strasbourg sausages 
  • 200 g pork belly
  • 350 g pork shoulder
  • 1/2 a bottle of white wine
  • 2 clove-studded onions
  • 250 ml of stock
  • 6 grains of black pepper
  • Aromatic herbs

Method of preparation :

  1. In a big pot, cover the base with the smoked bacon rind.
  2. Put in the cabbage, pepper, onions and aromatics and mix without moving the bacon rind.
  3. Top it with the pork belly and shoulder.
  4. Pour in the wine and the stock.
  5. Cover and leave to cook over low-medium heat.
  6. After 1 hour, remove the pork belly and shoulder from the pot and leave it for another hour.
  7. 15 minutes to the end, add them back.
  8. In the meantime, poach the sausages and cook the bacon.

All done and ready to serve!

( remove the onions and herbs before you serve your guests! Also, potatoes will do great next to the Choucroute)

These are the left overs I brought back with me from my parents’ house with extra EXTRA sauce! We drove back with the windows rolled down and a couple of gag reflexes from the Mr.

Small confession: there are pork peices missing from my plate because frankly I couldn’t wait for the picture to be taken. The bacon was seducing me. And it was delicious!😍😍😍

Next time I’ll try making my own fermented cabbage. I mean what’s the worst that could happen right?

Leave a Reply

