Did someone say cinnamon apple cake?

We had some apples laying there in the fruit tray for a couple of days when my husband suggested we do something with them before they went bad.

💡💡💡💡💡!!!!

I knew exactly what to do. Flashback to when I was 12 – 13 (maybe younger I’m not sure). My parents had a system for our pocket money; every Sunday one of us (my siblings and I) would have to bake a cake or cook something in return for pocket money. There were 2 popular cakes, my grandma’s chocolate cake and my personal favorite, apple cake! 

Best part about baking a cake when you are a kid (still today for my part) is eating raw batter! We used to fight about who would get which part, the spoon the mixing bowl… you get the idea! Keep in mind we were 5 kids at home, all wanting to get a bit more of the batter than the other. My parents don’t know this but whenever it was my turn to bake, I used to make a bit more than what was needed for the recipe and eat it alone in the kitchen. Then I would give the spoon and mixing bowl to my sibs and make it look like I was all generous and stuff!

Don’t get me wrong, I am generous, but when I was a child I had a stomach for a brain!

Long story short, i called my mom and asked for the recipe and here it goes!

For the apple cinnamon cake you will need:

1 cup of flour and 3 eggs

3/4 cup of sugar

2 teaspoons of cinnamon

8 apples
METHOD OF PREPARATION:

  1. preheat the oven at 400°F.
  2. Mix together eggs and sugar/cinnamon mix. Leave a bit of sugar to top the cake.
  3. Add the flour.
  4. Go back to the recipe and check if anything is missing because the batter is too thick.
  5. Realize that you forgot the vegetable oil and facepalm yourself.
  6. Add 1 cup of oil.
  7. Peel the apples, remove the cores and dice 6 of them. Slice the remaining 2.
  8. Add the diced apples to the batter and fold them in.
  9. Pour the mix into a baking dish and top it with the sliced apples.
  10. Add the remaining sugar/cinnamon goodness on top.
  11. In to the oven it goes. Leave it at 400 for 10 minutes then turn the temperature down to 350 and leave it for another 30-40 minutes or when the tip of the knife comes out dry when placed in the center of the cake.

TIP OF THE DAY

When you put the cake in the oven, and check the time to set the timer, do not get distracted in the process; your dinner with a DVD can wait. Otherwise you might end up with this:

I got distracted, forgot to turn down the temperature and as a result -although it doesn’t really show- the edges, the sides and the bottom burned. But to tell you the truth it still tasted good!

Plus my grandpa always said that if you ate the burned part of the food you will find money. How much money you find depends on how much burned food you eat!

Honey we are rich💲💲💲💲Pack your bags, we are going on a world luxury tour!

Leave a Reply

